| | #1 | ||
| Acct. Closed at Member Request Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 503
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
![]() | Anyone know? How safe is this site? Who runs it? Where is it based out of? Are IPs logged? Have authorities ever tried to conficate info from this site such as e-mail addresses? Can people be tracked through e-mail addresses? How hard is it to get a warrent for aquiring the info contained about individuals in this site so the paper trail can be traced? | ||
| |
| | #2 | ||
| Ron Paul Follower ![]() ![]() ![]() Join Date: Feb 2004 Location: In a ripple of time...
Posts: 3,555
Thanks: 1,025
Thanked 1,288 Times in 657 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Rick runs the site. This place is as safe as can be. Based out of the US I think. I wouldn't worry about having any security problems visiting this site. It is safe and secure here. I don't know all the answers to your questions but I'm sure it won't be long before a moderator, administrator, or someone who know more, posts in this thread.
__________________ ![]() alteredego Grow Guide Plant Abuse Grow FAQ Posting Guidelines Acceptable Use Policy Bowlevard of tokin greens "I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge -- myth is more potent than history -- dreams are more powerful than facts -- hope always triumphs over experience -- laughter is the cure for grief -- love is stronger than death." ![]() | ||
| |
| The Following User Says Thank You to alteredego For This Useful Post: | tripps (08-04-2008) |
| | #3 | |||||
| Master Gardener ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002 Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
(If they have the good, they will just get a warrant to come kick open your door, search your house, slap your wife, and throw your pathetic butt in jail).![]() BTW, IMHO you can easily set up totally anonymous e-mails but, IF (note the BIG IF) they can get a warrant, tracing the IP numbers AT THE ISP would be relatively easy....
__________________ ____________________________________________ DISCLAIMER: I cannot give legal advice in my intoxicated state so anything stated here is my opinion only Legal thoughts should be verified by a local attorney before being relied on. Any talk of cultivation, consumption, or any other illegal activity is my imagination. My brother took the pictures. PATRIOT ACT and F.I.S.A.------Probable Cause and Search Warrants FIRST GROW JOURNAL-Unusual Busts and Close Calls-masking the noise di-methylnastystuff & tetragonnakillya-All other questions:Here "Marijuana, in its natural form, is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known to man." Federal Judge Francis L. Young September 6, 1988. | |||||
| |
| The Following User Says Thank You to Ganja Lawyer For This Useful Post: | tripps (08-04-2008) |
| | #4 | |||
| Developer ![]() Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,697
Thanks: 280
Thanked 613 Times in 153 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
1. How Safe is this site? I'd say this site is pretty safe. I employ a great deal of security measure to help ensure that the colocated webserver doesnt get comprimised. The server that runs HC.Com is in a colocated facility that I run. Thats' my employer. I make admins/mods change passwords every so often and we audit the admin/mod groups to make sure that we have not been penetrated or comprimised at the software level. 2. Who Runs it? Global Sativa Corporation is the owner of HempCultivation.Com as well as Marijuana.Com, et all. Global Sativa is a U.S. Corporation and adheres to all laws of the US. We are simply excercising our freedom of speech and our freedom to assemble peacefully to address our grievences with the government. 3. Where is it based out of? HempCultivaion.Com is based out of Arizona, USA. The server is colocated at the colocation facility I am Senior Network Administrator for. I manage each of the colocated boxes, the Cisco switches the boxes connect directly to and the Cisco 7206 Border router which controls traffic flow and total bandwidth. I would be the person presented with a search warrant for anything within our network. 4 Are IPs logged? Ip's are not logged on HempCultivation.Com. I do not keep web traffic details for hempcultivation.com. Apache is not logging anything but errors so I can determine problems before they become issues. It is possible for Administators to get the ip you are currently visiting with. We use this method of ip capture for banning and watching problem users/trolls. Sometimes I use this information to contact outside ISP's to inform them of the abuse by one of their users. I do not mind giving up the ip of someone who is causing me grief. However, they (ip's) are not stored with any identifiable information. 5. Have authorities ever tried to conficate info from this site such as e-mail addresses? Not on HempCultivation.Com. I have recieved a reqest by the secret service to turn over any information I had on a Marijuana Webmail User - of which I keep no information, so I had nothing to give them. BTW, when info is requested by Secret Service, it is considered a matter of national securiy and thereby not to be discussed under penalty of law. HempCultivation.Com or it's owners have never been approached by any law enforcement agency, for any reason. 6. Can people be tracked through e-mail addresses? Yes, of course. When you send an email to someone, your ip address is listed in the headers of the email message along with some other identifiable information. We do not display email addresses nor do we require one when you register for HempCultivaiton.Com. They are handy for recieving subscriptions and what not, but not necessary. I would advice folks to use a secure, anonomous email system. Hushmail.Com comes to mind as a good source for confidential email systems. 7. How hard is it to get a warrent for aquiring the info contained about individuals in this site so the paper trail can be traced? Well - TBH, I dont know - im not a LEO or Lawyer. I do know that in the 5 years of existence of HempCultivation.Com we have never been presented with a warrant of any kind. This leads me to believe that it may be rather difficult for LEO to get a warrant on a particular user - much more difficult to get a blanket warrant for the server. We dont keep anything on the server anyways, so no biggie if they do. I hope I have been able to help answer some of the questions you have asked. I dont know the answers to everything, and I cant tell you exactly what security measures I employ to protect the communities, but I would like to assure you that I am doing everything possible to help people without getting others in trouble. Please let me know if I can further clarify anything. And, again, sorry for the delay -just a ton going on. Rick | |||
| |
| The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to rick For This Useful Post: | andg_93 (10-07-2008), CRAZYTRAIN (10-07-2008), HellRaiZeR (07-16-2008), JJDigg (12-09-2008), JUNGLEOFEDEN1 (10-20-2008), mattdreads (10-08-2008), MorningDew (10-10-2008), PotHole Hippy (10-07-2008), toocool4school (10-08-2008), tripps (08-04-2008), x9stealth (12-29-2008) |
| | #5 | ||||
| American~Stoner ![]() Join Date: Dec 2002 Location: On the bayou.
Posts: 1,935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
Global Sativa Corporation? Whats that all about? Quote:
![]() Thanks rick. | ||||
| |
| The Following User Says Thank You to Fgid1 For This Useful Post: | tripps (08-04-2008) |
| | #6 | |||
| Master Gardener ![]() Join Date: Aug 2002 Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 1,068
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
For example, if one of the mods goes bezerk and uses this site to propogate some evil computer virus that causes trillions of dollars in damage around the world, well "Global Sativa" has problems but Rick could just start another company ![]()
__________________ ____________________________________________ DISCLAIMER: I cannot give legal advice in my intoxicated state so anything stated here is my opinion only Legal thoughts should be verified by a local attorney before being relied on. Any talk of cultivation, consumption, or any other illegal activity is my imagination. My brother took the pictures. PATRIOT ACT and F.I.S.A.------Probable Cause and Search Warrants FIRST GROW JOURNAL-Unusual Busts and Close Calls-masking the noise di-methylnastystuff & tetragonnakillya-All other questions:Here "Marijuana, in its natural form, is one of the safest therapeutically active substances known to man." Federal Judge Francis L. Young September 6, 1988. | |||
| |
| The Following User Says Thank You to Ganja Lawyer For This Useful Post: | tripps (08-04-2008) |
| | #7 | |||||
| Developer ![]() Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,697
Thanks: 280
Thanked 613 Times in 153 Posts
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() | Quote:
Quote:
It's cool, Never been the President of a corporation before, lol. Quote:
Thanks for all your support, everyone! rick | |||||
| |
![]() |
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
| |
Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| U think you're safe? READ THIS! | Johnny Blaze | Security | 11 | 05-29-2004 01:24 AM |
| eBay? Think again. In bed with Big Brother. | Qwiz | Security | 11 | 05-13-2004 02:13 PM |
| Check out my site | stoner2399 | Planting Indoors | 2 | 04-27-2004 11:37 AM |
| WWS seeds site problems? | WikingCanuck | Seed Banks | 1 | 04-18-2004 12:17 AM |
| New to the site, a few questions, any help appreciated... | lildonkey | Planting Indoors | 6 | 02-24-2004 04:47 AM |
| New To Site? | Need Help? |